top of page

I'm With Her.


I am not someone who can separate my political views from the other aspects of my life because, among many other reasons, this country's politics at times dictate my life. I voted for Hillary in the primaries, and while I have deep respect for Senator Bernie Sanders, I've been on the Clinton bandwagon for quite some time now.

I also feel I should include that I did not vote for her in 2008, because most days she is actually too moderate for my tastes. But it is absolutely undeniable that she is overwhelmingly qualified and a dedicated civil servant who has spent most of her life working for those whose voices aren't often heard. She is simply an incredible person and history was made this week as she was the first woman to win the nomination for a major political party to be a candidate for President of the United States. And #ImWithHer.

This blog was started as a way to find more amazing female characters in literature. But sometimes those super-women exist in our actual world, and when they do, I feel they deserve the attention of a small independent blogger who is just trying to make a small impact on the world. We're looking at a decisive time in our country's story, and for me there is really no other candidate to lead the way. I whole-heartedly understand some (many) people feel differently, but I also believe there is a shroud of sexism and a multi-decade Republican attack campaign that has obstructed many people's opinions on Secretary Clinton. This book, Living History, is a wonderful beginning to hearing, directly from Hillary Clinton, what drives her, influences her and how those White House years affected her life.

If I haven't made this clear before, I audiobook often. My job allows me to listen and work at the same time, which is part of the secret on how I can move through books so quickly. In this case, Hillary actually reads the book to you. And, honestly, I thought it really added to the experience. I don't always believe this to be the case - in fact, there have been times where I have genuinely thought that the audiobooked voice of a character actually made me dislike that character more than I would have otherwise. But in this instance, hearing the author read to you makes it seem as if you are sitting in her office, listening to her reminisce about the past. It is delightful.

I am not going to speak to her accomplishments here because the book does that amazingly. And you can get a condensed version from Bill's, Joe's, President Obama's, Chelsea's, and Secretary Clinton's speeches from the DNC last week as well as a variety of think-pieces and the Clinton website. What I can speak to is this: this book is a treatise on her entire belief system. It maps her influences from childhood until the present, and will give you a deep understanding of what makes this fascinating woman tick. It is warm, it is humorous at times, it is terribly heart-breaking, and will make you wonder why anyone would willingly put themselves into such a harsh public spotlight. The history is engaging, the writing is smooth and enjoyable, the drama is gripping and ALL of it is just a fraction of Hillary's experiences.

If you in any way think Hillary Clinton is false, corrupt, or too entrenched in career politics; read this book. If you are unsure of her as a candidate, a leader or in any way questioning why you should vote for her; read this book. But most importantly, if you want to hear the life story of an incredible, history-making woman who will not be beaten down and will not rest until that glass ceiling is shattered; read this book.

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Autobiography

My enthusiasm has come to a point where I made my own cover photo for Facebook to show my support. #ImWithHer

Also, a couple quick link to other's opinions how the media has vastly skewed our opinion of Hillary Clinton:

Follow Me
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Tumblr Icon
What I'm Reading
85622._UY450_SS450_.jpg
2020 Resolution Count

Books Read: / 25

Blog Posts Written: / 15

Added to Mailing List: / 20

Facebook Followers: 44 (Goal 100)

Twitter Followers: 22 (Goal 50)

How BCB Began
Books by Genre
No tags yet.
Favorite Book of 2020 So Far

This mailing list is ONLY to get updates on the latest books I've read. My promise to you is to never use this for promotional purposes. Just better female characters delivered to your inbox. 

Never Miss a New Book!

Join my Mailing List

Tales of a Female Nomad is the story of Rita Golden Gelman, an ordinary woman who is living an extraordinary existence. At the age of 48, on the verge of divorce, Rita left an elegant life in LA to follow her dream of connecting with people in cultures all over the world. This book encourages us to dust off our dreams and rediscover the joy so many of us bury when we become adults.

The Bookshop

 by Penelope Fitzgerald


The year is 1959 and the kind-hearted widow Florence Green risks everything to open the only bookshop in the seaside town of Hardborough. What follows can only be described as the quaint, strange, and often sad happenings of a small, isolated community. The plot is not filled with grand parties, unlikely lovers, or a shocking penultimate event. But somehow, because the world of this story seems to fit in a snow globe, each small shake builds on the one before until those same every day situations are riddled with dramatic tension. I was truly amazed at how invested I was in the life of Florence's small bookshop.

61A-B3hCGxL._SX342_.jpg
bottom of page